Latest news on Teachers' house allowance rates.
Latest news on Teachers' house allowance rates.

The Teachers Service Commission, TSC, pays house allowance to teachers on a monthly basis. This allowance is only paid to teachers employed on permanent and pensionable terms.

Teachers do not, though, get a flat rate of this allowance. Payment of house allowances is based on two criteria; the teacher’s job group and work station.

Teachers’ Workstations have been classified, by the Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC), thus;

  • Nairobi,
  • Former Major Municipalities (Mombasa, Kisumu, Nakuru, Nyeri, Eldoret, Thika, Kisii, Malindi and Kitale),
  • Other former Municipalities; Ruiru, Kikuyu, Kitui, Machakos, Mlolongo, Athi River, Vihiga, Wote, Mumias, Bomet, Limuru, Kericho, Kimilili, Kakamega, Kapsabet, Kiambu, Bungoma, Webuye, Busia, Runyenjes, Migori, Embu, Homa Bay, Lodwar, Meru, Nyahururu, Nanyuki, Maua, Voi, Siaya, Chuka and Kerugoya/ Kutus
  • Other areas; this include all regions not mentioned in bullet 1-3 above.

Teachers working in Nairobi receive the highest house allowances as opposed to those working in reserves (other areas).

Similarly, teachers in higher job groups get more house allowances than their counterparts in lower groups.

Read about all other allowances here; Full details on all allowances paid to teachers by TSC.


S/No. JOB GROUP Nairobi Major municipalities* Other municipalities* others
1 B5 6,750 4,500 3,850 3,200
2 C1 10,000 7,500 5,800 4,200
3 C2 16,500 12,800 9,600 7,500
4 C3 28,000 22,000 16,500 13,000
5 C4 28,000 22,000 16,500 13,000
6 C5 35,000 25,500 18,000 20,000
7 D1 45,000 28,000 25,000 20,000
8 D2 50,000 35,000 25,000 20,000
9 D3 50,000 35,000 25,000 20,000
10 D4 50,000 35,000 25,000 20,000
11 D5 50,000 35,000 25,000 20,000


Here is your complete guide to all the new teachers’ salary scales. Click on this link.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here