Current list of TSC Commissioners- Kenya.
Current list of TSC Commissioners- Kenya.

The Teachers Service Commission, TSC, is established under Article 237, of the Kenyan Constitution. The Commission consists of a Chairperson and eight other members appointed in accordance with the Constitution and provisions of Section 8 of the TSC Act.

Dr. Muturi is the TSC Commission Chairperson; having been appointed in 2021.

According to the TSC Act, ‘the chairperson and all members of the Commission shall serve on a full – time basis for a non-renewable term of six years.’ Appointments are done by the President.


For one to be appointed the Commission Chair, such an individual should meet following minimum qualifications:

  • holds a degree in education from a university recognized in Kenya;
  • has knowledge and experience of at least fifteen years in matters relating to education and training; and
  • meets the requirements of Chapter Six of the Constitution.

And for members top the Commission, here are the minimum requirements:

  • holds a degree from a university recognized in Kenya;
  • has knowledge and experience of at least ten years in matters relating to any of the following fields: education; governance; management; or law; and
  • meets the requirements of Chapter Six of the Constitution.In appointing members of the Commission, the President shall ensure that at least two-thirds of the members have experience in education.


Here is the list of all the current TSC Commissioners;

S/N TSC Commissioner Name Year appointed Year to exit Responsibility
1 Dr Jamleck Muturi John 2021 2027 Chairperson
2 Mbage Njuguna 4/5/2020 2026 Member
3 Leila Abdi 4/5/2020 2026 Member
4 Timon Oyucho 2021 2027 Member
5 Nicodemus Ojuma Anyang 2021 2027 Member
6 Sharon Kahindi 2021 2027 Member
7 Sharon Jelagat Kisire 2021 2027 Member
8 Annceta Wafukho 2021 2027 Member
9 Salesa Adano Abudo 2021 2027 Member

Functions and Powers of the Commission

The Commission performs the following functions:

  • register trained teachers;
  • recruit and employ registered teachers;
  • assign teachers employed by the Commission for service in any public school or institution;
  • promote and transfer teachers;
  • exercise disciplinary control over teachers;
  • terminate the employment of teachers;
  • formulate policies to achieve its mandate;
  • provide strategic direction, leadership and oversight to the secretariat;
  • ensure that teachers comply with the teaching standards prescribed by the Commission under this Act;
  • manage the payroll of teachers in its employment;
  •  facilitate career progression and professional development for teachers in the teaching service including the appointment of head teachers and principals; and
  • monitor the conduct and performance of teachers in the teaching service.

Role of the Commission

The Commission executes the following roles:

  • reviewing the standards of education and training of persons entering the teaching service;
  • reviewing the demand for and supply of teachers;
  • advising the national government on matters relating to the teaching profession; and
  • establishing and maintaining a teaching service adequate to the needs of public learning institutions in Kenya.
Related news


  1. Infact tsc should come up with the ways to absorb all the graduants who are tarmacking to and fro due to lack of jobs and they are trained, infact some are even regretting why they did the teaching course,so please it’s my request to the tsc to look at the teachers who are not yet employed..,.. that my humble request and I am included


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here