Home TSC Latest News TSC Secretariat list – CEO, All Directors

TSC Secretariat list – CEO, All Directors

Dr. Nancy Macharia

Commission Secretary

Dr. Kennedy Mulunda

Deputy Commission Secretary

Dr. Kennedy Mulunda was appointed Deputy Commission Secretary on 16th December 2019. He has 19 years’ hands on experience in provision and management of end to end Human Resource solutions from both public and private organizations. Prior to this appointment he was the head of Human Resource function at Huduma Kenya.

Dr. Mulunda has previously held senior Human Resource management positions at Atlas Development and Support Services Limited, Kenya Airways, Kenya Wine Agencies Limited and Nzoia Sugar Company. He holds a PhD in Human Resources Management from Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture &Technology, Masters of Business Administration -Human Resources Management from University of Nairobi, Higher Diploma in Human Resource Management – (KNEC) and a Bachelor of Education Mathematics & Economics from Egerton University.

Dr. Mulunda is a member of the Institute of Human Resources Management of Kenya.

Cheptumo Ayabei

Director (Finance)

Mr Ayabei Joined Teacher Service Commission in 1999 as a Finance Officer and rose through the ranks to Director Finance Directorate in 2009. He worked in the Ministry of Education as an Assistant Secretary and Senior Assistant Secretary Finance in 1990 to 1999.

He has Msc in Finance and Banking from University of Stirling United Kingdom, Bachelor of Education Arts option from Kenyatta University and CPA (K). He also has Certificate in Public Finance and Accounts from University of Connecticut and Stratlyclyde University Scotland UK. He is a member of Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya. His vision is to make the Finance directorate proactive in identifying issues and offering innovative solutions to enable the Commission accomplish its goal of providing quality services to its clients more effectively.

Ibrahim Mumin

Director (Administrative Services)

Mr. Mumin was employed by the Teachers Service Commission in 1983 and served as a teacher in various schools before appointment as District Education Officer and later District Inspector of Schools. He joined the secretariat in 1988 and appointed to head of Human Resource Development division. Prior to his current appointment, he was the Senior Deputy Director in charge of Administration.

He holds a Master of Education (M.Ed.) degree in Education Management and Policy Studies from the University of Bristol and a Bachelor of Education from the University of Sterling (UK). He has also attended various management courses both locally and abroad that include; Strategic Planning and Management at the University of Witwatersrand (South Africa), a Programme on Developing Strategic Skills for Organizational Development (London), an Advanced Training Program in Educational Planning and Management (UNESCO-Paris), Strategic Leadership Development Programme (Kenya Institute of Administration) and Pro-Active Business Excellent models (Eastern and Southern Management Institute) among others.

Dr. Reuben N. Mugwuku

Director (Quality Assurance & Standards)

Dr. Reuben Nthamburi Mugwuku was appointed Director Quality Assurance and Standards. He holds a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Educational Communication Technology from Moi University, a Master of Education degree (Curriculum Option) from University of Nairobi and a Bachelor of Education degree in Mathematics and Geography from Egerton University.

Dr Mugwuku is the immediate former Deputy Director Basic Education and Learning at the Kenya National Commission for UNESCO. Previously he served as a Deputy Director Basic Education and Senior Assistant Director E-Learning at the Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development.

Rita W. Wahome

Director (Staffing)

Rita Wamuyu Wahome is the Director – Staffing Division. She holds a MED in Education Administration and a BED from from Kenyatta University.

Rita is immediate former TSC County Director Nyeri. She has previously served in the same capacity in Nyandarua County. She has also served as a Principal in various schools for over 19 years. Rita is a member of the Kenya Institute of Management.

Charles Gichira

Director (ICT)

Isaac K. Nganga

Director (Internal Audit)

Isaac Kamau Ng’ang’a was appointed Director Internal Audit on 15th October 2018. He joined the Commission from the National Lands Commission (NLC) where he served as the Head, Audit and Risk Management. Mr Ng’ang’a has also headed the Internal Audit Unit at the Kenya National Commission On Human Rights and worked in various capacities at the Constituencies Development Fund, Hiuhu Nguyo and Company and Muriason & Associates.

He holds an MA in Accounting and Financial Management from the University of Hertfordshire (UK) and a BSc in Business Administration (Finance) from the United States International University (USIU). Mr Ng’ang’a is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA), Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE), Certified Risk and Compliance Management Professional (CRCMP), Certified Information Systems Risk and Compliance Management Professional (CISRCP), Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA), ISACA and Certified Internal Auditor, Institute of Internal Auditors.

He is a member of the Institute of Certified Public Accounts of Kenya (ICPAK), Association of Certified Fraud Examiners (ACFE), Information Systems Assurance and Compliance Association (ISACA), International Association of Risk and Compliance Management Professionals and the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA).

Dr. Julius O. Olayo

Director (HRM & D)

Dr. Julius Ochieng Olayo, PhD, LLB joined Teachers Service Commission on 2nd January 2020. Dr Olayo has a wealth of experience in organizational development, change management and development of policies and strategy frameworks in both the private and public sectors spanning over 24 years. Prior to joining the Commission, he was the director human resource and administration at National Industrial Training Authority (NITA).

Dr Olayo has also served as the head of human capital at the Independent Policing Oversight Authority (IPOA). He has also worked at Mastermind Tobacco Company, Kenyatta University, Consumer Insight Africa, Kenya Forest Service and Management University of Africa.

Dr Olayo holds a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Human Resource Management from Jomo Kenyatta University, MBA (HRM) from Kenyatta University, B.A Social Science from Kenyatta University, Bachelor of Laws Degree (LLB) from the University of Nairobi and a Post Graduate Diploma (HRM) from Kenya Institute of Management.

Dr Olayo is a Certified Human Resource Professional (CHRP-K) from the College of Human Resource Management Kenya and a Certified Trustee by College of Insurance Kenya. In addition, he is a full member of the Institute of Human Resource Management(IHRM) and holder of HR Practicing Certificate.

Mrs. Mary C. Rotich

Director (Field Services)

She holds Master of Education (M.Ed.) degree in Management and Policy Studies from The University of Bristol (UK), a Bachelor of Education (B.Ed.) from Kenyatta University and a Professional Development Certificate in African Leadership in ICT (ALICT). She has also attended various courses related to education management and training and is well conversant with policies of teacher management.

Mrs. Rotich was employed by the Teachers Service Commission in 1987 as a graduate teacher of Economics and Geography and taught in various secondary schools before joining the secretariat in 1996 as a staffing officer. She has over the years risen through the ranks to the position of Ag. Director Teacher Management. Prior to her appointment, she served as a Senior Deputy Director in the Directorate of Teacher Management.

Cavin Anyuor

Director (Legal, Labour and Industrial Relations)

Source: TSC.go.ke


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here