Assessment in Competency Based Curriculum, CBC; Types of assessments per grade


Major focus is assessment for learning using mainly formative examination unlike 8:4:4 which mainly focus on ASSESSMENT OF LEARNING using summative examination (kcpe and kcse)rather than assessment for learning


1: Classroom assessment (C.A)

Prepared ,administered and scored by the teacher in school.
C.A from grade 4 to 6 (30%)

2: School Based assessment (S. B.A)

Prepared, and uploaded by KNEC, administered and scored by the teacher who upload scores to KNEC.
S.B.A from grade 4 to 6 (30%)

3: Summative Assessment (S. A)

Prepared,administered and scored by KNEC at the end of grade 6 KPSEA (40%)

CBC Assessments you should know

KEYA Kenya Early Year Assessment (Grade 3)

KPSEA Kenya Primary School Education Assessment (Grade 6)

KMYA Kenya Middle Year Assessment (Grade 9)

KCBE Kenya Certificate of Basic Education (Grade 12)

Kindly note that learners will be doing School Based Assessments (SBA) in Grade 4,5,7,8,10 and 11)

Posted in Education News.

Media Team

View posts by Media Team