TSC Boss Dr Nancy Macharia. The Commision has issued fresh guidelines for teachers and TSC staff accessing its offices countrywide.

TSC now fully constituted with 9 Commissioners (Here is the full list of all the Commissioners)

Chief Justice Martha Koome has sworn in five newly appointed Commissioners of the Teachers Service Commission (TSC), who will serve for a period of six years.

The five commissioners include Nicodemus Ojuma Anyang, Sharon Kahindi, Sharon Jelagat Kisire, Annceta Wafukho and Salesa Adano Abudo. (See the full list of all the TSC Commissioners, below).

Speaking at the swearing-in ceremony held at the Supreme Court, Koome congratulated the appointed commissioners for having been bestowed with the responsibility of protecting and realizing Kenyans’ right to education.

The CJ asked the commissioners to collaborate with those in already office in rebuilding relationships with teachers in order to make Kenya a reference point in terms of education.

Highlighting the effects of Covid-19 in the education sector, Koome observed that students from vulnerable communities have suffered the most as they cannot migrate to virtual learning.

“The pandemic has exposed the flaws of the society and it is the responsibility of TSC Commissioners to ensure the education system leaves no group behind,” she stated.

The CJ urged TSC to look at the country’s education system and re-imagine education anew, saying their mandate requires them to work towards the realization of a quality education system that is accessible to all.

“The foundation of a society is anchored in the development of character which is moulded through education. Therefore, the oath which you have taken should guide you in your day-to-day operations,” said Koome.

The CJ further asked the Commissioners to adopt a consultative approach in decision making, while taking into account the interests of children.


Welcoming the Commissioners, TSC Chairperson Dr. Jamleck Muturi told them that their work is to serve the teachers and children with a view to taking their teaching and education into greater heights.

Muturi promised that the Commission will endeavor to give every child an equal chance to education regardless of one’s background and geographical location.

The Secretary, Legislation Affairs and Regulatory Compliance in the Office of the President, Jasper Mbiuki while offering his congratulatory remarks said the decisions made by TSC affect every household since the Commission is one of the most esteemed constitutional entities in the country.

“Appreciate the responsibility of being key anchors of education systems and make your contributions to the wellness of the country,” he said.

He urged the Commissioners to tap into the vastness of the human resources by promoting and employing teachers fairly.


S/N TSC Commissioner Name Year appointed Year to exit Responsibility
1 Dr Jamleck Muturi John 2021 2027 Chairperson
2 Mbage Njuguna 4/5/2020 2026 Member
3 Leila Abdi 4/5/2020 2026 Member
4 Timon Oyucho 2021 2027 Member
5 Nicodemus Ojuma Anyang 2021 2027 Member
6 Sharon Kahindi 2021 2027 Member
7 Sharon Jelagat Kisire 2021 2027 Member
8 Annceta Wafukho 2021 2027 Member
9 Salesa Adano Abudo 2021 2027 Member
Posted in TSC Latest News and tagged , , , , , , .

Media Team @Educationnewshub.co.ke

View posts by Media Team @Educationnewshub.co.ke